top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAlyssa Horstead

Emergency Fund Before Debt?

I keep hearing or being told that I should wait to pay off my debt until I have $1000 in an emergency fund.

Personally, I think this is absolute bullshit advice.

You really want me to rack up more debt in interest just so that I can have $1000 in savings quicker? I mean, maybe this can work for some people, but I think it's crap advice.

I made my budget for an entire year and planned out how much money I will put towards my debt, my emergency fund, and my US Savings account.

I should be able to pay $3000 towards my visa, while also saving $1430 in my emergency fund, and putting $1330 CDN/$1012 US into my US savings account by the end of the year.

I have an interview on Wednesday morning with VIPkid for an online English tutoring job. My mom suggested I look into working the Federal election in October as well. I've worked many elections. It's a long day of sitting, but it's also an extra $200. I also want to look into being a film/TV extra or PA, since I do live closer to Vancouver now.

I have all these avenues I can look into to make extra money.

But I will not be putting off debt repayment until I have $1000 in my savings.

I'm trying to REPAIR my credit here! I want a 700 or higher credit score!



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page