top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAlyssa Horstead

The Beginning

Hey!

My name is Alyssa, I'm 32 years old, and I'm a manager at McDonald's.

I'm currently free of Student Loan debts, but only because both grandfathers passed in 2016 and I received enough money from their estates to pay those off. However, I am saddled with $6100 in credit card debt, no emergency fund, $385 owing on my phone bill, and I'm living in my $300 overdraft.

I currently weigh 162lbs (I started 2019 at 178lbs) and am following a keto-ish weigh of eating in order to get to my goal weight of 135lbs.

I suffer from anxiety and overthinking, but it's much better on the keto diet.

I also have PCOS and a familial history of diabetes. I would like to have kids in a few years and I also want to put off the diabetes diagnosis as long as humanly possible....or avoid it all together!

I'm also single AF!


My plan to be living more comfortably by my 35th birthday?

*Have paid my visa off in full

*Have $2000 in an emergency fund

*Have a minimum of $500 in a "fun money" savings account

*Open an RRSP with $1000

*Not be living in my overdraft after my bills are paid

*Have at least a 750 credit score


What are the steps I'm planning to take to reach financial stability? 1. Pay off my phone bill on March 8th, and renegotiate my phone plan

2. Pay $200/month towards my VISA (with $1000 being paid 2 months of the year) and hopefully have the card paid off by December 2020

3. Save all my spare change, which will be my Birthday or Christmas fun money

4. Put $50-$200/month into a savings account, depending on the month

5. Take my vacation pay for the June 14th paycheque, and the approximate $600 should get me out of my overdraft and give me a $100-$200 cushion in my chequing account

6. Use a Capital One mastercard to make sure my phone bill is paid on time every month, paying off the card immediately

7. See a credit score of 660 by the end of 2019 and 700 by the end of 2020

8. Find a side hustle to do to generate a couple hundred extra dollars a month

9. Live off of $100-$140 for food and spending every two weeks


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page